WWE Night of Champions ’15 Breakdown


So I was looking up at my Wrestling tab and saw it had a lonely article which basically talking about myself and my interests. Then I was watching WWE’s pay-per-view Night of Champions last night, courtesy of the WWE Network for just $9.99, and thought I’d talk a Jawload of what I thought about Night of Champions.

Kevin Owens defeats Ryback(c) for the Intercontinental Championship
I love the fact that Kevin Owens won the title. Why? Not only am I a huge fan of Owens (and he won dirty which helps his character), but I’m down on Ryback. Since Ryback won the Intercontinental Championship, and he was put into a rivalry with The Miz and Big Show, I instantly lost interest in not only Ryback, not only the contenders, but the Intercontinental Championship itself. The United States Title has become the better title since Rusev won it, and then John Cena carried that to new heights, leaving the white strap to be the “low card” title, in my eyes. Owens getting the title brings back the prestige that the title once had when Shawn Michaels, Stone Cold, The Rock, Triple H, and many other revolutionary superstars defended the Intercontinental Championship. This also means that Kevin Owens would likely rival with great athletes in the ring, and give us a 15-minute match per PPV that would draw interest from fans. Of course, once Ryback loses his rematch.

Dolph Ziggler defeats Rusev (with Summer Rae)
I’ll be 100% honest. I left during this match because once they played the video package, I knew I had zero interest in it, and have for weeks now. It feels to me they have nothing for Dolph Ziggler, Lana (injured), Rusev, or Summer Rae, so they made up this love ordeal. Each time they come on WWE programming, I fast forward through or take time to get a snack. Ziggler’s talented in the ring and Rusev can be okay, but this has got to end soon… Speaking of, I did come back in when they were showing the replay. Apparently Summer Rae threw a shoe at the referee, it hit Rusev instead, and Dolph hit his “Zig-Zag” move for the win. Can we see this come to an end now, please?

The Dudley Boyz defeat The New Day(c) [BY DISQUALIFICATION]; so the WWE Tag Team Championships didn’t change hands
I can’t begin to express to you how much I was looking forward to this match. I’m not a guy interested in the Dudley Boyz, and especially being thrust into the title picture, but there are no other tag teams! I was just amazed at how The New Day built this match up with a #SaveTheTables campaign, and for Xavier Woods to break up the “would-be” title changing pinfall after a 3D, that was excellent. The New Day came to be hypocrites, which led to Woods being put through a table. Although it was predictable what was going to happen when The New Day introduced a table after the match, it was a great fan moment. I don’t know if it could have been scripted any better than it was.

Charlotte (with Paige and Becky Lynch) defeats Nikki Bella(c) (with Brie Bella and Alicia Fox) for the Divas Championship
This match was a lot. I felt it was too early to give Charlotte the reign, but since Nikki Bella just became the longest-reigning Divas Champion in WWE history, and then tapped out to lose it, shows you she was only holding the belt for the WWE to spit on AJ Lee’s legacy, and ultimately, CM Punk. Charlotte was hurt and on a bad leg, but finished the match with a Figure Eight (a figure-four leglock into a London Bridge – think Ric Flair and Bray Wyatt) and Charlotte won her first championship in the WWE. It wasn’t that great of a match, however, but I’m sure by December we’ll see Charlotte defend her Divas Championship in a 5-star match on a PPV!

Fun Fact:
Charlotte (real name Ashley Fleihr) played Volleyball at Appalachian State University before she was famous … And yours truly watched her play! Same night the author met Ric Flair in the stands.

“The Wyatt Family” Bray Wyatt, Braun Strowman, and Luke Harper defeat Dean Ambrose, Roman Reigns, and Chris Jericho
So in case you didn’t know, Roman and Dean had to find their tag team partner, and it was announced at the start of the match to be “Y2J” Chris Jericho. I’m extremely disappointed that the commentators didn’t play this well enough. They tried to sell that Jericho and Wyatt have boiling water with each other, but nobody was buying it. I feel WWE dropped the ball on who this mystery partner would have been. With the knowledge of Erick Rowan out with a torn bicep, they could have called up a NXT star like Baron Corbin, Finn Balor, or Samoa Joe. Instead, they give it to Jericho which will have no impact moving forward. Plus, this match only had 13:05 and didn’t give everyone a chance to shine. I could have gone without seeing it.

John Cena defeats Seth Rollins(c) for the United States Championship
To me, this was the best match of the night. A lot of great moves and it played the storyline well. I think the ending was flat, but overall a good match. I was scared that Cena and/or Rollins would’ve been hurt badly, as Seth Rollins went for his Turnbuckle Powerbomb, and Cena reversed into a hurricanrana. That could have been an ugly scene, but thankfully, neither were hurt (as I’m aware of)… And yes, wrestlers do get hurt. They take real falls. They don’t land on cotton candy and pillows. They land on wood under a cover, and they grow welts on their backs…… ANYWAYS! Unfortunate for me as I’m a Rollins fan, but fortunate for the United States Championship to fall into John Cena’s hands, where he’ll eventually lose it (hopefully) to a rising NXT star and until that time comes, he can keep defending it and putting on 5-star matches for the title on Raw.

Seth Rollins(c) defeats Sting for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship
I was shocked at how good this match went. First of all, I was afraid Rollins would lose both titles in the same night, so I’m personally thrilled with the outcome. Sting wasn’t afraid to take some hard bumps and falls either, as you could see he definitely gave it his all. Now you must wonder who Rollins will wrestle next for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship, as unless it’s Cesaro, there’s no real formidable opponent for Rollins… Kane? I don’t think so!

 

Overall (and I wish it was different), this was one of the worst, if not the worst, Pay-Per-Views of the 2015 calendar year. However, they had the right people win their matches. If I had to rate it on a scale 1-10, I’d go with a 3…. Tough critic, eh?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

