Super Bowl 50: Thought Map


If I can share a strange habit about myself, is that I talk.. a lot… to myself. In my solitude, I’ll rant and over-analyze current happenings and yes, even sports. This can go on for thirty minutes, an hour, just a part of my day I lose track of time. So you might ask why I don’t use that on my podcast? Problem with that is, my “bubble ramblings” are very unorganized. I could be on one topic in Minute 1, exit off onto another, and then get back on the first topic five minutes later, right where I left off. Crazy, I know!

So if you’re like me, you’re probably wondering why this kid would share such a secretive fact, one he could be mocked for. Well because, yesterday was Super Bowl 50, between the Denver Broncos and the Carolina Panthers. The game wasn’t even over and I was receiving messages of what I had thought about the Super Bowl and several questions about the aftermath. I plan on touching on each topic that’s surfacing around, and that’s why I’ve labeled this post-analysis article, “Thought Map”, because that’s exactly what it will be.

SUPER BOWL 50: THE GAME
Many were caught off guard about how this game went, but they shouldn’t have been. I knew going in this would be a defensive game with two of the best defenses in the National Football League, so it’d be a low-scoring affair. I knew Peyton Manning wouldn’t be able to stretch the ball down the field, and I knew Cam Newton wouldn’t be able to “keep his (bleeping – because I don’t cuss) cool” if Denver were to get a lead, which the Panthers never led once in the game. I knew this game would be controlled by the defensive front of the Broncos, and how effective they’d be would determine who would win this game. And in the end, it looked like the Denver Broncos wanted it more than the Carolina Panthers, which I had called before the game as well.

I personally enjoyed the game, enjoyed watching it, enjoyed the tiny party put together at my home, and it was a good representation of what these two teams were built on throughout the NFL season, and we saw the best team come out of it.

PEYTON MANNING’S LAST HOORAH?
First of all, I can’t believe anyone is even talking about Peyton Manning playing another snap in the NFL. He turns 40 years old next month and we saw his body literally break down and whither away into nothing, being benched for Brock Osweiler until they had to get into the playoffs. Peyton Manning goes out with this fantasy ending that any player would dream of, going out on top, riding off into the sunset, and people are really pondering the idea he returns for 2016? To me, it’s almost like predicting the high-scoring game. It might be what you WANT to see, but there’s no chance.

And for those of you wondering, the only reason Peyton Manning didn’t retire on the spot in Santa Clara, is he wants to celebrate the championship with his team, and he doesn’t want to take away anything from the team’s hard-working performance and victory. It was a very classy move to dodge the question, not once, but twice, on the field after the Super Bowl and defer the attention to the Denver Broncos, not absorb it all as Peyton Manning. Maybe John Elway should’ve done this 17 years ago, hmm…

CAM NEWTON CHOKES
A part of me shows compassion towards Cam Newton and the Carolina Panthers, because as a Cowboys fan, I know how it is to get your heart removed from your chest when a quarterback doesn’t show up for his best game in the playoffs, and I have no idea how it is in the Super Bowl. Another part wants to laugh in the faces of many, especially the ones who felt Cam Newton was MVP-worthy and could actually beat this #1 defense when Tom Brady only put up 16 points with Gronkowski and Edelman at his disposal. If the Panthers defense stays in tact, I feel Cam Newton can make more playoff appearances in his career, but this will sting until, if ever, he wins a Super Bowl ring. Until then, Cam Newton will be Baby Lillard, wanting a ring.

And as much as I’d love to leave on the Baby Lillard picture, I want to make a fair comparison, to 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick. Kaepernick, young, physical specimen, immature, went to a Super Bowl and lost to a defensive team in the Ravens, who also had a player playing in his last game. Colin Kaepernick was gawked over by many and made bigger in life after an electric postseason, and that reminds me a lot of Cam Newton. Newton’s goal should be to get back to the playoffs, improve as a player on and off the field, and avoid by all means to be the next Kaep.

Now, until then, Cam Newton will be Baby Lillard, still wanting his ring.

CAM’S POST-GAME PRESS CONFERENCE
People want to know my thoughts on this, and to be quite honest, I hate the media. This isn’t about Cam Newton’s dabbing or flashy personality, which I was strongly against heading in, but this is about his team losing the Super Bowl. Cam didn’t have enough time to process things, calm down, before the media had to get their answers. Imagine you applying for a promotion at work, it being handed to someone else, and thirty minutes later people are hammering you for answers.  The media is too pushy and wants reactions instantly, that it fails to show compassion for the work put in by these players. They lost their “promotion” and they are met by the media on their worst day.

Then again, I can’t completely defend Cam Newton, because this league-mandated, and with his brash personality displayed all season, he should have at least stayed, answered questions like an open book, and use the opportunity to restore confidence in his team for next year. But if anyone’s actually shocked by Cam doing this, they really didn’t know Cam Newton just a couple years ago. He’s always been reclusive when he loses, because that’s Cam.

JOSH NORMAN CRYING ON TV
Again with the media overload. Of all the Panthers, Josh Norman is my least favorite, but I’ll stick up for him here. It’s like Cam Newton, because he’s lost that promotion, the Super Bowl, and he’s getting emotional on the sideline… Wouldn’t you? Ask yourself if you wouldn’t break down and cry after your world flipped upside down in one night. This is a human being, still, and we forget that with players.

I have more respect for Josh Norman as a player after that, actually. He came out, played the game of his life against another one of the game’s elite receivers Demaryius Thomas, and the postgame tears showed he actually cares. Nothing negative from me about Norman after Sunday, which I didn’t see me saying a week ago.

VON MILLER WINNING THE MVP, WHAT’S NEXT?
First off, this was a well deserved Super Bowl MVP award. Miller totaled 6 tackles, credited for 2.5 sacks, and knocked the ball out of Cam Newton’s hands twice, so I don’t believe anyone can dispute his rightful crowning as Super Bowl 50 MVP, which he’ll be cherished and recognized by forever. The MVP award is fitting also, considering he wasn’t apart of the Super Bowl 48 loss to the Seahawks a couple years back. With that said, many are making claims that he’ll stay in Denver, and though the Broncos can franchise him, I believe he’s wanting the big money. Money drives any motive in sports in the salary cap era, and I believe once he’s given the opportunity, he’ll bolt for the biggest contract.

ELI MANNING’S NON-REACTION
So for anyone who missed it by looking away from the TV, after the 2-pt conversion to give the Broncos a 14-point lead with 3:08 left in the game, Eli Manning was shown to have the blank face while everyone around him was celebrating. Let me begin by saying, in Eli’s two biggest games of his career, Peyton Manning was nothing short of supportive and he was overjoyed for his brother. I’ve been trying to come up with a list of reasons why Eli didn’t go bonkers and celebrate:

5) The Giants lost to the Panthers, 38-35 earlier in the season, but his brother’s Broncos won’t.
4) Eli realized he now has to go win a third Super Bowl to up-one his brother.
3) Eli Manning was told pregame by father Archie if Peyton won, Peyton would be the more successful brother.
2) Eli had big money on the Carolina Panthers winning.
1) 2007, 2011, the Giants won Super Bowls, and since they missed out in 2015, his next chance will be in 2019.

COTCH/NO-COTCH
Jerricho Cotchery in the 1st quarter caught it, or didn’t, and Panther undies are all in a bunch because of it, citing biased officiating. Of course, anyone who has watched football this season should understand that this was the narrative throughout the year, and this wasn’t a bad call. The Panthers aren’t victims to bad officiating, but just another victim in the horrible catch rule in place. And no, this play nor bad officiating changed the outcome of this game. Carolina still showed up and scored 10 points, that’s why they lost by two touchdowns.

 

I hope everyone genuinely enjoyed the game and their company, because this was a historic Super Bowl 50 we’ll remember for the rest of our lifetimes, I know I will!

If do ask if I missed any questions for me about Super Bowl 50, you come to my Facebook page (by clicking here), post a question, and I’ll be happy to answer them all.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

