#WeeklyFood Picks 2016: Week 2


So my job last week, simply, it failed. I went 4-11 in my picks last week, which is just over 25%. I need a major improvement early on to get to my desired 65%. We’ll see if this week can show my true betting skills.

Tune in Monday night when I upload a video of my undesired food challenge, but until then, let’s tackle Week 2’s picks.

I’ll keep an updated record and percentage week-by-week on these posts so you can keep up with my progress.

RECORD: 4-11 (26.7%)

Saints @ Giants :: New York (Giants)
This should give me at least one correct pick because of where they play. The Saints are a dome team and they travel up to East Rutherford to play the Giants coming off of a big win in Dallas. The Giants could slide if they haven’t put the opening win behind them, but I expect them to hold the Saints like they did Dallas last week.

49ers @ Panthers :: Carolina
San Fransisco shocked everyone (including me) last week with a 28-0 shutout against the rival Rams. Don’t expect the same to happen this week considering San Fransisco is playing on the other side of the country against a much, much better team. The records don’t reflect this, but take Carolina as a lock.

Cowboys @ Redskins :: Washington
With expecting the real Kirk Cousins to show up this week, I’ll take Washington at home. This game can go either way, honestly, but I believe Washington’s aerial attack is too much for a horrific Dallas secondary. Expect Alfred Morris to score a touchdown, yet the Redskins take their first win on the year.

Dolphins @ Patriots :: New England
The Patriots were able to prove everyone wrong last week in Arizona, and I expect the Patriots to win this game as well. However, don’t be surprised if Miami pulls it off against the Patriots. It’s a division game and Miami had themselves a good losing effort in Seattle, so this will be close.

Bengals @ Steelers :: Pittsburgh
If you can, watch this game. If your team is playing at 1 o’clock, then record this Steelers/Bengals game because this is going to be nasty. I’ll take the Steelers at home in this game, and some expect a blowout, but we’ll see.

Ravens @ Browns :: Baltimore
The Ravens came off impressive in a 13-7 win over Buffalo last week, while the Browns failed to show up in Carson Wentz’s debut. Now Robert Griffin III is out and Josh McCown is starting once again… Just give it to Baltimore already.

Titans @ Lions :: Detroit
If anyone hasn’t checked my #D46 Power Rankings in 2016, you’ll know I’m not high on the Detroit Lions. However, Tennessee just lost to Shaun Hill and the Vikings. Detroit isn’t great defensively, but they’ll have a more difficult time stopping Matthew Stafford at home. I’m taking Detroit, now watch the Lions disappoint me.

Chiefs @ Texans :: Kansas City
Now Houston had a win over Chicago at home last week, but they aren’t playing the Bears. Kansas City is coming off a massive comeback against the Chargers, so I’m expecting Kansas City to come away with their second win to open the season.

Seahawks @ Rams :: Seattle
If Russell Wilson is able to go, then this should be easy for Seattle. It’s the Los Angeles opener, but I don’t see that playing a factor other than making it a closer game than last week’s goose egg laid in San Fransisco. Expect the Seahawks to pull a Giants when Dallas opened up then-Cowboys Stadium (now AT&T Stadium) in 2009.

Buccaneers @ Cardinals :: Arizona
The Cardinals are 7-point favorites at home against the Buccaneers, and despite last week’s disappointment against the Patriots, I’ll take the Cardinals this week. I think last week spoke more about Bill Belichick than it did the Arizona Cardinals. Bruce Arians should have his team ready to go and just lay into the Buccaneers this game.

Jaguars @ Chargers :: Jacksonville
San Diego is at home and are coming off a frustrating loss in Kansas City, but I’m taking a leap with the underdog Jacksonville Jaguars. Traveling from Florida to California might be a problem, but I like Jacksonville’s talent and their head coach more. I could see this game going either way, but my money’s on the Jags.

Falcons @ Raiders :: Oakland
I’ll take the Jaguars across the country, but not the Falcons. The Raiders are coming off a big win in New Orleans and Atlanta’s terrible defensively. I was disappointed Atlanta couldn’t use their home turf to beat the Buccaneers last week, so I don’t think playing outside on a rough field will help any. Derek Carr and Amari Cooper can’t let me down!

Colts @ Broncos :: Denver
The defending champions have a home game again, and they have a much worse team coming in. Going from a defensive Panthers squad to a soft Colts team with a terrible coach. The Colts lost last week to Detroit when I picked them, so there’s no way the Colts are beating the Broncos… Just no way.

Packers @ Vikings :: Minnesota
I know in terms of the level of difficulty with opponents last week, Green Bay was at the bigger disadvantage, but this is a rival game in Minnesota. Expect both defenses to show up, but this game will be won with Time of Possession. I’ll take Minnesota’s defense and Adrian Peterson going 2-0, putting the Pack down 0-2, and beginning to run away with the NFC North.

Eagles @ Bears :: Chicago
This was a tough one for me, and I could have picked Philadelphia, but hearing Philadelphia’s Zach Ertz won’t be playing, I have to go with Chicago. The Bears are at home and it won’t be as easy for Carson Wentz on the road. Expect Chicago to take a low-scoring game.

 

Now I want to hear your picks for this week’s slate of games! If you’re smart, you’ll likely go the opposite way for my picks, based on last week’s disaster.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

