Jawsworthy NFL Picks Week 4


After trying it out on a Saturday, I’ve made the executive decision to have the Jawsworthy NFL Picks series remain on Thursdays for this time out. It gives you all to compete against myself and will be able to include one of many NFL’s glorious ideas of having a game every Thursday. Did I disguise my sarcasm well enough? Oh well, doesn’t matter now…

After my first losing week of the season, going 7-8 in a week of upsets (the Jets won), I still remain above average overall for the year, but I hope to get back to my winning ways in Week 4.

Overall record: 26-20 (56.5%)

Bears at Packers :: Green Bay
These rivalry games can go either which way (ie. Dolphins/Jets last week). However, I can’t vote against Aaron Rodgers and the Packers, in Lambeau, against a team such as the Chicago Bears. You’ll just never see it.

Saints at Dolphins :: New Orleans
I was about to go for the Dolphins, and this game can go either way, but I remember when the Dolphins decided to pass on Drew Brees, and perhaps Brees remembers that as well. I’ll take the Saints in a quarterback battle Brees should win.

Panthers at Patriots :: New England
In a Super Bowl 38 rematch, the Patriots should take this one. The Panthers should put up a fight, but I’m not betting against Tom Brady.

Jaguars at Jets :: Jacksonville
I’m predicting a 3-1 record for the Jaguars to begin the NFL season. Don’t blame me, I just blame the Jets on being that awful.

Titans at Texans :: Houston
The Texans had an incredible game against the Patriots and would have won if not for a spectacular Tom Brady performance. The Texans are at home and this is Deshaun Watson’s first career start at home. Watson’s giving something to this team in order for them to upset the Titans and take a strong divisional game.

Lions at Vikings :: Detroit
I’m stuck on who to pick, particularly how well Case Keenum played last week in Sam Bradford’s absence. However, Detroit should have won that game against the Falcons and I am trying to sell myself on Matt Stafford and the Lions, so I’ll pick Motor City in this division game that goes either way.

Rams at Cowboys :: Dallas
The LA Rams are cooking on all cylinders, but haven’t really been challenged. They faced Scott Tolzien’s Colts and Brian Hoyer’s 49ers. The Cowboys won a big game against the Cardinals to avoid a 1-2 hole, and they could be 3-1 after this week with an impressive young secondary.

Bills at Falcons :: Atlanta
If the Bills can beat the Broncos and the Falcons in back-to-back weeks, that’s impressive! The one problem is… It’s Buffalo. I rest my case.

Steelers at Ravens :: Pittsburgh
Baltimore had to travel to London last week and got spanked, which is not nearly as embarrassing as the Steelers losing in overtime to the Bears. It’ll be a tough game and last week bears nothing on this contest, but Pittsburgh has the most talent to shine this week.

Bengals at Browns :: Cincinnati
Cincinnati got it going offensively last week, and while I want to pick the Browns upset and nearly did, I am picking the Bengals. However, if Marvin Lewis falls to his former assistant Hue Jackson, expect Lewis not to make it past Monday. It’s a must-win for Marvin Lewis to delay the inevitable.

Giants at Buccaneers :: New York (Giants)
The Buccaneers have given up the third-most yards on defense, not to mention they got hammered by Case Keenum last week. I don’t believe the Giants can keep this drought going forever, and they’re thrown a bone on Sunday.

49ers at Cardinals :: Arizona
The Cardinals should have won against the Cowboys and if they commit to stopping the run, Brian Hoyer can’t beat the Arizona Cardinals. The Cardinals win to try and keep pace in the NFC West.

Eagles at Chargers :: Los Angeles (Chargers)
Who is the better team? Philadelphia. Who is not having to travel coast-to-coast? Los Angeles. Who didn’t get a lucky field goal? Los Angeles. It’d be the biggest upset all week, but I believe the Chargers do it on Sunday. I may get this wrong, and I’m okay with that, but I don’t trust an Eastern team going out West.

Raiders at Broncos :: Denver
The Broncos are back at home and the Raiders will be coming in, and while Oakland could knock them off, I’ll take Denver in this game. If I’m honest, this is a tossup.

Colts at Seahawks :: Seattle
Indianapolis was impressive last week with Jacoby Brissett, but that was against the Browns. Brissett is not prepared to travel to Seattle and play in that ruckus stadium. The Seahawks should win this one, despite it being an ugly offensive showcase.

Redskins at Chiefs :: Kansas City
The Chiefs are the best team in the NFL right now. They have everything, while Washington’s 2-1 record is likely better than they actually are. The Chiefs should have no problem winning this game, honestly.

Those are my picks! Some risky ones, such as the Chargers winning, but let’s see how this week goes. Drop your picks in the comments below for an opportunity to knock me off.

One thought on “Jawsworthy NFL Picks Week 4

Add yours

  1. While I believe I fell the Jaw in our weekly bout in Week 3, I may still have a slightly better overall record…for now.

    While I am late this again this week, I missed out on perhaps the most obvious pick of the week with the Packers over the Bears.

    I don’t always look to agree with the Iron Jaw on his picks but with that being said, he and I are on the same page a bunch this week.

    My Phins will fall to the Saints just about the time we get home from church on Sunday, unless God has other plans in London like we witnessed last week.

    Another painful choice is picking the Pats again, but Cam Newton is trying too hard to give games away this year to go against them here.

    The Jags will ground the Jets after their big win last week.

    Watson has tons of upside, but I believe Mariota lifts the Titans over the Texans in this one.

    The Lions prevail against the Vikings.

    Now, Rams vs Cowboys. This one could be interesting. The Rams offense has been impressive, but the D was awful against the Niners. The Boys will bring more D and the win.

    Alt has no issues with the Bills.

    Steelers keep the Ravens at bay.

    Bengals continue to improve against the Brown.

    I will take the Bucs over the Giants just because.

    Cardinals will have no trouble with the Niners.

    Philly will win in LA and it won’t take a missed field goal at the end of the game to do so.

    I will take a risky pic and take the Raiders over the Broncos in back to back poor showings for Denver.

    The Seahawks might just bring some offense to the field for the 12 th man to cheer for. Colts will fall asleep in Seattle.

    I would like the see Washington pull it all together again as they did last week. Another win and the Cowboys have a contender for the East title. Redskins upset the Chiefs in my riskiest pick of the week.

    Let’s go, and for the love of our nation, let’s stand and honor our flag as well as those who have given their lives so these childish millionaires can play a game.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑